Italian Amore

I was reminiscing through my pictures when I came across my album from when I traveled to Italy.

I studied abroad in Italy this past summer, and everyday I was overwhelmed with its beauty. The architecture, people, food and scenery constantly took my breath away. And looking back at those pictures I realized… COLOR was everywhere.

I studied in Verona, which is located in the Veneto region in the north. (It is said to be the city where Romeo and Juliet took place, thus it is called the city of love.) Each building was painted a pastel color and had contrasting colored shutters on its windows. Flowers hung in baskets out of windows. And no matter where I looked, color was present.

Below is a picture of Piazza Bra, which is one of two main piazzas in the city of Verona. The architecture here was defined and the color of the buildings, street signs and even the road played a significant role in the city’s beauty.

 

Here is a picture of Verona taken from the top of the clock tower in the center of city. This is the bird’s eye view of the city where you can see the colored roofs, rolling hills and unique buildings. Man the birds have it good…

Yes, the entire city looked like this. In fact every city I traveled to in Italy had its own breathtaking attributes and I regularly found myself standing in awe of what I was looking at.

 

As I traveled around the rest of Italy, I quickly learned that the country’s landscape—as well as the food and wine—was also full of color and beauty.

Here is one of five dashing towns in Cinque Terre, located on the Italian Riviera. A hiking trail connects the towns, and I hiked from town to town while mesmerized by the intense blue of the Mediterranean Sea, fierce green grass on the side of the mountains and the rainbow of buildings in each town.

The Amalfi Coast was, in my opinion, the most beautiful and elegant city I visited. Here I am with my travel partner and BFF on the balcony of our hotel in Positano. Cascading hills lined with colorful homes and hotels as well as dainty flowers were everywhere I looked.

My friends and I were lucky enough to get to experience hands-on Italian cooking by taking a cooking class in the countryside. Below are stuffed zucchini flowers with chives and goat cheese filling. We beer battered them and baked them in the oven—quite a decadent appetizer. Also, we handpicked spices from the garden to create a fabulous dinner where I was able to focus on the exceptional taste with each bite.

Now the only thing left to do is book my next trip!! Anyone up for a visit to Italy?

About coloremily
I live in a colorful world.

4 Responses to Italian Amore

  1. Those stuffed zucchini flowers sound delicious! I am definitely up for a trip to Italy, as long as we can stop in Spain for a while.

  2. India Pender says:

    Yes! I love Italy! I have not visited Verona, but when I went a few years ago Venice was my favorite. I hope to go back sometime soon. Euro 2011_5990H would be an awesome trip. We could document the ENTIRE thing 🙂

Leave a Reply

